ELPAC – English Language Proficiency Assessments for CaliforniaThe ELPAC is the state-mandated assessment that measures a student’s listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in English. 

Initial ELPACStudents whose home language is other than English as determined by the Home Language Survey will be assessed with the Initial ELPAC within 30 calendar days of enrollment. This is administered only once in a student’s academic career.

Parents receive a student score report that identifies the student’s overall performance level in English and the development of his/her oral and written language skills.Students are designated one of the following:

  1. Initial Fluent English Proficient (IFEP)
  2. English Learner (L)
  3. Novice English Learner (N)

For more information on the three performance levels, click here.

Summative ELPAC

Each English learner will be assessed annually with the Summative ELPAC during the assessment window to determine their progress in acquiring English. English learners are administered the Summative ELPAC each year until they are Reclassified.There are 4 performance levels of the Summative ELPAC:

  1. Level 1 – Minimally Developed
  2. Level 2 – Somewhat Developed
  3. Level 3 – Moderately Developed
  4. Level 4 – Well Developed

For more information on the four performance levels, click here.

A Parent Guide to understanding the ELPAC is available here.

Start typing and press Enter to search

Translate »